Final Project

What would you like feedback on? What would help you improve your project?

I would like feedback on the design of the course site, lesson structure, content of each completed lesson, and where there could be areas for growth if I decided to lengthen the time of the course. Part of me is thinking if I wanted the module to run the full semester (13-16 weeks), what other lesson topics could be included?

How should we evaluate your project? According to this criteria, how would you evaluate your final project?

I would like for you to evaluate my project on the following criteria:

  • Using the COI survey, did I incorporate elements of teacher, social, and cognitive presence?
  • Do the lesson activities meet the learning goals?
  • Is my course site user friendly?

According to the criteria listed above, I think I incorporated teacher presence in that I clearly communicated important course topics, goals, and activities. I incorporated social presence by requiring and encouraging online discussion and collaboration through blogging. I incorporated elements of cognitive presence through problem-posing learning activities like the pre-test, case study, and 90 day action challenge. Those activities also allowed for brainstorming about possible solutions using relevant information and resources.

I think my lesson activities meet the learning goals except for understanding the campus resources available on campus. I’m not sure if I do a thorough job explaining the available technology resources students can utilize if they encounter problems. I will go back and think about including that in my course module so that I am doing a better job assigning activities that meet learning goals. Nevertheless, I think the module does a solid job helping students develop a goal action plan necessary for success in blending learning environments.

I also think the rampages set up couldn’t have been easier! Plus, I even utilized the ALT lab on campus and the faculty couldn’t have been better to work with. Once they gave me a basic tutorial, I ran with it. I think wordpress is definitely user friendly and my hope is students will feel very comfortable using a platform they will have to use for future courses.

What did you learn in the process of developing this project?

I learned the importance of being adept at using the technology you are trying to teach to your students. I decided to be more intentional about teaching my students how to set up and use rampages as lesson 1 because Monty reminded me that with each new online tool I introduce, I need to be able to teach that to my students. I learned not to be so content drive, but process-drive when it came to teaching. At certain points of the project, I would get caught up in the content of each lesson such as blogging about a particular topic, that I forgot I should probably lay the groundwork and teach my students how to blog first. The course taught me to take a step back and think more deeply about online course design and structure.

 

One thought on “Final Project

  1. course site, lesson structure, content of each completed lesson, and where there could be areas for growth if I decided to lengthen the time of the course. Part of me is thinking if I wanted the module to run the full semester (13-16 weeks), what other lesson topics could be included?

    i think the overall design of your learning module is great. Very clean and easy to understand. I agree with you that rampages, once you spend just a little bit of time learning it, provides a very flexible, easy platform for web publishing. I think it makes a great “LMS”.

    The content of your completed lessons looks good. If you are going to run this in the future, there are just a few things about using rampages and aggregating student blogs under a mother blog that you will need to work out with Alt Lab. Its not hard, but there is stuff to do. You will also need to stipulate on each assignment the tags and categories.

    In terms of content, one thing I started wondering about is what is the difference in terms of skills students need for hybrid vs online? Have you thought about this or read anything?

    As for areas of growth, I would consider the question above in terms of what makes hybrid distinct from online, and what skill sod students need for that environment. Also, I have added you as a student in a VCU blackboard course that I created to try out exporting the SRL module Bri created. You can check this out and get ideas of how to expand your lessons. Bri did a really good job un-packing the different elements of SRl a, providing instruction on how students can use these elements for online learning (again it would be interesting to think through the difference for hybrid courses). The copy in the BB course is not the final but will give yo ideas for expanding yours. If you are interested in using any of these I would contact Bri and get the final copy.

    Overall, really nice job!

Leave a Reply

